Twenty-seven aspiring gear engineers are competing for the 2017 AGMA Foundation Scholarship awards – surpassing last year’s record of 21 scholarship applicants.  Eighty-six percent of scholarship recipients are employed in the gear industry. The AGMA Foundation awards annual scholarships of $5,000 to undergraduate and graduate students, and $2,000 annual scholarships to technical/associate degree students.  Ten students received scholarships in 2016 totaling $47,000. Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited institution of higher learning, and must demonstrate interest in a career in the gear industry.

“There is a great need for skilled employees at all levels in the gear industry,” noted Cindy Bennett, Executive Director of the AGMA Foundation. “The Foundation Scholarship Committee conducts a comprehensive view of each application to understand every applicant’s focus and interests,” added Bennett. “The review process, which takes considerable time from our Committee volunteers, hones in on the applicants with a true passion for gearing. Scholarship award follow-up shows the success of the program – with 86% of scholarship recipients currently employed in the gear industry.” Scholarship awards will be made by the Foundation Board of Trustees in late August.

The scholarship program’s success is due to AGMA members who fund the scholarship program through voluntary donations to the Foundation’s Annual Campaign.  The Annual Campaign kicked off in June, and runs through the end of 2017. The Foundation hopes to raise $100,000 in this year’s Campaign. Early donors (by August 31, 2017) receive special recognition in Annual Campaign materials, on the Foundation website, and at Gear Expo 2017.