AGMA Foundation awards five scholarships to undergraduate and graduate engineers pursuing futures in the gear industry

Alexandria, VA, October 6, 2022 – The AGMA Foundation Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2022 Scholarship awards. Each fall, the Foundation awards $5,000 scholarships at the Undergraduate and Graduate levels and has scholarships available at $2,500 at the Association or Technical school level. Applicants with work and/or research experience in the gear or power transmission industry receive preference for scholarship awards.

The 2022 AGMA Foundation Scholarship recipients with their school affiliations are:


  • Josh Biddle, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Hailey Yoon-Ha Devney, George Washington University
  • Nicholas Wever, Kettering University


  • Abolfazl Hosseinpour, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Milad Azvar, University of Waterloo

The five recipients were chosen through a subjective process designed by the AGMA Foundation Scholarship Committee. Nine seasoned gear industry veterans volunteered to review all of this year’s applications.  “The purpose of our scholarship program is to award students who are specifically pursuing work in the gear industry,” said Mary Ellen Doran, AGMA Foundation Executive Director.

The proceeds from the endowment and donations form AGMA member companies and industry individuals are the sole source of funding for the scholarship program. The scholarship awards fulfill the Foundation’s mission to recruit, educate, and keep the power transmission industry current with emerging technology.

The AGMA Foundation 2022 Annual Campaign is currently underway. Donations can be made through the website at


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.